c-section · childbirth · Family · marriage · parenting · PREGNANCY · Uncategorized

Another in Tow

My lil one is already 8 months old. Time sure flies. I remember the day he was born as if it was yesterday.

I remember going in at 11am to check-in at the hospital. A nurse called me in and took me to a little room in the corner of the hallway. I went in was asked to change in to a gown and was hooked up to a monitor. She came back to put an IV on. I was supposed to have my c-section at 1pm but doctor was running late. The doctor and anesthesiologist came in to talk to me before I went in to the OR.

I was walked over to the OR after signing paperwork and answering a lot of questions. My husband was asked to wait on a chair right outside the doors of the OR as I walked in. It was so cold in there. I see the doctor there, the nurse, and the anesthesiologist. They all introduced themselves to me again. Then I was asked to arch my back to get the spinal. I was trying to hold my self up. I couldn’t get too hunched because then it felt like I couldn’t breathe. The anesthesiologist asked me to stop moving and to keep my back curbed. Well it was so hard to do, but I did it. Some how I did it. Someone helped me lay down I forgot if it was the nurse or the anesthesiologist but I do remember I freaked out.

I started to panic. I started feeling a warm sensation from my chest to the tip of my toes. Then I felt my chest very heavy. All of a sudden I just couldn’t stop trying to move my legs. Of course I couldn’t move my legs. I couldn’t feel them either. I know what I was feeling was normal. I had felt that before on the previous c-sections I’ve had, but this time was different. Something happened that made me panic.

The anesthesiologist asked me if I was OK. I told her I was, I just needed to calm down. So she asked me what I was feeling. I told her, “I’m anxious”. So she told me to calm down, but it was easier said than done. I just couldn’t. I tried breathing in deep and slow, but I was so anxious. I asked her if my husband could come in. She said that they were getting everything ready for him to come in. They couldn’t bring him in yet. I was freaking out. I kept asking if he could be brought in with me. They finally did. I had my eyes closed, but felt him grab my hand. It instantly made me feel calm.
He started talking to me. I wasn’t really paying attention, I was concentrating on breathing deeply and staying calm. I was afraid I would start to panic again. Then I hear “here he is!” And then a cry. My baby boy was born! I was so happy.

wp-1454568311292.jpgThey weighed, measured and cleaned him. Then they asked my husband if he wanted to take his picture and that they were going to take him to the next room. The doctor finished stitching me up and in no time I was in the recovery room. As I was wheeled in to that room I could hear a newborn crying out screaming really loud. I remember thinking I bet that baby is mine. It was.

So they rolled me in and my husband was sitting in there with our new baby boy. The nurse gave him to me so I could start breastfeeding. That was the first time I held him in my arms. He was so warm and smelled so sweet. He was adorable! I couldn’t stop staring at him. His little eyes were trying to open up to look up at me. His toes were so tiny. His hands were so long and strong grabbing onto me. His nose was adorable and pink. His little ears very hairy 😊.

He was perfect!

Leave a Reply

