marriage · parenting

My Marriage

I have been a stay at home Mama for almost 7 years now. I have had good days, bad days, so so days, and extremely fun days. It is a full-time job that I can never call out or get vacation from. Of course my husband and I have our dates. We have been trying to make a tradition to go out for a mini vacation on my birthdays. Our first time to leave the kids was last year. We were gone Saturday night got home on Sunday night. That was the longest we have both ever been away from the kids. It was hard but we said we would try again. Maybe not the entire weekend, but an entire day and slowly add days. I think we rushed into it the first time.
I believe it is very important to spend time with my husband. We watch a movie, a show, read a book or go to the gym together during the week. It is very important for us to be close and happy with one another because if we are not happy our little ones are not happy. The kids depend on us working together as a team. It’s hard to always agree and always be happy. We are two different people who not always see eye to eye. We have our moments, but have learned to quickly solve the problem. It has been hard to get to where we are, but it is something that comes with patience, communication, and love.
I enjoy reading. Two books I read and really liked, gave me a different perspective on what I was doing as a wife. The Proper Care and Feeding of Husbands and The Proper Care and Feeding of Marriage by Dr. Laura Schlessinger. These books made me rethink what I was doing. The books made me realize that my approach towards my husband was not the best. I did what I thought I should to change what I was doing. I must say it made a huge difference. My husband and I have not argued at all. We have not agreed on some things, but it has not turned into an argument. I recommend these books. These books did make a difference to my relationship with my husband.
 

8e243992398d6085907672ee58be267e

I have been purchasing Dr. Laura’s books and I want to finish reading them all. I am currently reading “In Praise of Stay-at-Home Moms” by Dr. Laura Schlessinger and “Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: Practical Guide for Improving Communication and Getting What You Want in Your Relationships” by John Gray.

If anyone has any book recommendations for me or have read the books I’ve mentioned let me know your thoughts on the books. I hope you all have a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

